My 15-Minute x 3

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Photo credit: Veri Ivanova via stocksnap.io

Okay, maybe not really 15 minutes of “fame” per se, but I have been featured in the media before and perhaps this is a way to share a wee bit about where I’ve been and what’s important to me.

Part 1 – February 1994, Lillehammer, Norway / Niagara Falls, Canada

I was lucky enough to attend my first Olympic Games in 1994, in Lillehammer, Norway. It was the moment in time defined me. It defined my career and gave my passion focus and it paved a path to something that made my heart swell with joy. The world came together in a beautiful setting for the love of sport. It was amazing. It was also the Games we all met David Letterman’s mom.

At 18 I had a few different part time jobs, helping my dad with his business on weekends, working at a currency exchange in the summer and babysitting the Mott’s kids. At the time, the Mott’s had a current affairs show on CFRB 1010 in Toronto.  I thought I was kind of a big deal, babysitting for celebrities. So glamourous!

Long story short, my dad took me to the Olympics and I was the correspondent for the Mott’s show. David Letterman had his mom in Lillehammer. The Mott’s had their babysitter in Lillehammer. I still have the cassette tapes of the show. The local newspaper even wrote a story about me and my trip. It featured me sharing my Olympic stories with elementary school kids in my hometown of Niagara Falls. I don’t know whose idea that was, but I loved doing it.

The local newspaper even wrote a story about me and my trip. It featured me sharing my Olympic stories with elementary school kids in my hometown of Niagara Falls. I don’t know whose idea that was!

Part 2 – April 2001, San Francisco, California

Mentor blog 2 graphicI spent nine years in California in my twenties and early thirties. I spent quite a lot of time as a volunteer mentor for young girls. I loved it. Loved it. I’d recommend it to anyone with a few hours a week to spare and a desire to make a difference.

The San Francisco Chronicle did a story on the mentoring program I volunteered for. They profiled me, and my mentee, Kristina. I wish I knew where she was today. She was a great kid.I actually have the link to this one!  You can read it here.

Also, if you want to read more on why mentoring is an awesome volunteer opportunity, check out these blogs:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/david-mcmillan/big-brother-big-sister-mentor_b_2490231.html

http://timandolive.com/become-a-mentor/

Part 3 – February 2015, Toronto, Canada

Lori Franze, my friend and the inspiration behind this blog, asked me to be a part of her 9-5 series on Freshgigs.ca and answer questions about my career.  At the time, I was in the midst of a contract with the Toronto 2015 Pan Am Games.  I did my best to provide a bit of insight and (hopefully) inspiration to people looking for work in sports. You can read it here.

Part 4 – Coming soon… maybe.

 

 

 

 

.

Leave a Reply

